Archive a stream

This feature is only available to organization owners and administrators.

Archiving a stream will immediately unsubscribe all users from the stream, remove the stream from search and other typeaheads, and remove the stream's messages from All messages.

Archiving a stream does not delete a stream's messages. Users will still be able to find any given message by searching for it. However, links to messages and topics in the stream may or may not continue to work.

In most cases, we recommend renaming streams rather than archiving them.

Archive a stream

  1. Go to All streams.

  2. Select a stream.

  3. On the right, click Archive.

  4. Click Yes, archive this stream.

Archiving a stream is currently irreversible, but we plan to add support for unarchiving streams in the future.